Mark Cavendish is the Champion of the Dubai Tour 2015

Dubai Tour is the professional cycling race that take place from 4th to 7th February 2015. The 2015 edition is the second one: 4 stages, the best teams and the best riders will offer the World an amazing competition and a magnificent showcase of Dubai.

Saturday February 7th 2015, in the shadow of the Burj Khalifa, the world’s tallest building, Mark Cavendish (Etixx – Quick-Step) won stage four – The Burj Stage – of the 2015 Dubai Tour. Victory brought Cavendish the race leader’s Blue Jersey by a margin of six seconds over yesterday’s stage winner and the overnight Blue Jersey, John Degenkolb (Team Giant – Alpecin), who finished 9th today.

Cavendish also secured victory in the overall points classification and received the final Red Jersey on the podium, by virtue of his wins in stages one and four and his second place in stage two.

On the final podium: Elia Viviani (Team Sky) finished second in today’s stage, and in the overall points classification. Third today, for the second day in a row, was Juan José Lobato (Movistar Team).

In the intermediate sprints competition, Alessandro Bazzana (UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling), 20th today, successfully defended the UAE Flag Jersey, while Michael Valgren Andersen (Tinkoff Saxo), 30th, retained the White Jersey for the best rider born on or after 1 January 1990.

The Dubai Tour Trophy, named Circle of Stars, is designed by Pininfarina. The Italian design company has returned to the sports field with its usual passion and talent in conceiving memorable icons.

In cycling the jersey is the most powerful symbol of the triumph. Each day the leaders of the four standings will be wearing the jerseys with the colors of their records, competing on the roads to keep wearing that jersey. Paul Smith, the Britain’s foremost designer, has designed the Dubai Tour 2015 leaders’ jerseys. He is renowned for his creative spirit which combines tradition and modernity. The jerseys will be produced by Castelli, one of the world’s leading cycling apparel brands.

Blue Jersey (Sponsored by the Commercial Bank of Dubai) Overall race winner: Mark Cavendish (Etixx – Quick-Step);

Red Jersey (Sponsored by Emirates) Overall points classification winner: Mark Cavendish (Etixx – Quick-Step);

UAE Flag Jersey (Sponsored by Dubai Sports Channel) Intermediate sprints classification winner: Alessandro Bazzana (UnitedHealthcare Pro Cycling);

White Jersey (Sponsored by the RTA) Best young rider, born on or after 1 Jan 1990, winner: Michael Valgren Andersen (Tinkoff Saxo).

H.E. Saeed Hareb, Chairman of the Organising Committee of the Dubai Tour: “Our challenge is to be one of the top races in the world. There is no end of possibilities and no end to the dream.

Prizes awarded by H. H. Sheikh Mansour Bin Mohammed Bin Rashid Al Maktoum.


More pics on